Monday, January 30, 2012

ROAD RAGE Incidents !

Assaulting people generally incurs a Magistrates wrath unless the victim is a cyclist and then the perpetrator gets off with a light fine and little else !

Seems that if you are on a bike you are perceived to be the cause of any bad behaviour that comes your way . Following are some cases reported in “ Road.cc “ in recent times and one case of a £25 fine really does stretch the patience of any law abiding cyclist !





Added “ the cycling silk “ as the case was mentioned in another blog post and I did not see any benefit to Martin Porter QC for persisting in the case even after the Police and CPS tried to sweep the matter under the carpet .

The third item from the US is a miscarriage of Justice in that the driver was almost rewarded for what amounts to “Premeditated Murder ” ! Praying was not for the child and family but for the hope that he would get off .

Until people realise that a vehicle is a lethal weapon and it is a privilege to drive , there will continue to be Vulnerable Road Users suffering injury and death

Wednesday, January 11, 2012

TOURDOWN UNDER 2012 Provisional Starters

Copied out this Provisional Start list of the Racers from Cycling News . Looks like there are mainly sprinters and so the action in the final kilometres each day will be fraught with danger in the scramble for the line . Those watching are in for an entertaining event ! Wishing that I could be there but I will have my hands full with the Youth Olympics in Innsbruck . Someone could cut a DVD with all the action and I would enjoy seeing the results !

Provisional starters as of January 9, 2012

GreenEdge Cycling Team
1 Cameron Meyer (Aus)
2 Robbie McEwen (Aus)
3 Jack Bobridge (Aus)
4 Simon Gerrans (Aus)
5 Matt Goss (Aus)
6 Stuart O'Grady (Aus)
7 Leigh Howard (Aus)

11 Andre Greipel (Ger)
12 Vicente Reynes (Spa)
13 Marcel Sieberg (Ger)
14 Adam Hansen (Aus)
15 Gregory Henderson (NZl)
16 Jurgen Roelandts (Bel)
17 Olivier Kaisen (Bel)

Katusha Team
21 Oscar Freire (Spa)
22 Maxim Belkov (Rus)
23 Giampaolo Caruso (Ita)
24 Luca Paolini (Ita)
25 Xavier Florencio Cabrè (Spa)
26 Eduard Vorganov (Rus)
27 Gatis Smukulis (Lat)

Garmin - Cervelo
31 Ryder Hesjedal (Can)
32 Jack Bauer (NZl)
33 Robbie Hunter (RSA)
34 Nathan Haas (Aus)
35 Heinrich Haussler (Aus)
36 Andreas Klier (Ger)
37 Martijn Maaskant (Ned)

Sky Procycling
41 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor)
42 Geraint Thomas (GBr)
43 Christopher Sutton (Aus)
44 Alex Dowsett (GBr)
45 Michael Rogers (Aus)
46 Danny Pate (USA)
47 Mathew Hayman (Aus)

BMC Racing Team
51 Alessandro Ballan (Ita)
52 Mathias Frank (Swi)
53 Adam Blythe (GBr)
54 Marcus Burghardt (Ger)
55 Martin Kohler (Swi)
56 Manuel Quinziato (Ita)
57 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel)

61 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita)
62 Grega Bole (Slo)
63 Davide Cimolai (Ita)
64 Massimo Graziato (Ita)
65 Danilo Hondo (Ger)
66 Matthew Lloyd (Aus)
67 Davide Vigano (Ita)

71 Daniele Bennati (Ita)
72 Linus Gerdemann (Ger)
73 Ben Hermans (Bel)
74 Tiago Machado (Por)
75 Hayden Roulston (NZl)
76 Jesse Sergent (NZl)
77 Jens Voigt (Ger)

81 Luis Leon Sanchez (Spa)
82 Michael Matthews (Aus)
83 Tom Leezer (Ned)
84 Mark Renshaw (Aus)
85 Jos Van Emden (Ned)
86 Graeme Brown (Aus)
87 Wilco Kelderman (Ned)

91 Alejandro Valverde (Spa)
92 Jose Ivan Gutierrez (Spa)
93 David Lopez (Spa)
94 Angel Madrazo (Spa)
95 Imanol Erviti (Spa)
96 Javier Moreno (Spa)
97 Jose Joaquin Rojas (Spa)

FDJ - Big Mat
101 Sandy Casar (Fra)
102 William Bonnet (Fra)
103 Arnaud Courteille (Fra)
104 Frédéric Guesdon (Fra)
105 Yauheni Hutarovich (Blr)
106 Jérémy Roy (Fra)
107 Jussi Veikkanen (Fin)

Euskaltel - Euskadi
111 Romain Sicard (Fra)
112 Gorka Izagirre (Spa)
113 Victor Cabedo (Spa)
114 Pablo Urtasun (Spa)
115 Ruben Perez (Spa)
116 Adrián Saéz De Arregui (Spa)
117 Ricardo García (Spa)

Team Saxo Bank
121 Sérgio Paulinho (Por)
122 Anders Lund (Den)
123 Luke Roberts (Aus)
124 Jaroslaw Marycz (Pol)
125 Jonas Jørgensen (Den)
126 Jonathan Cantwell (Aus)
127 Takashi Miyazawa (Jpn)

AG2R La Mondiale
131 Martin Elmiger (Swi)
132 Manuel Belletti (Ita)
133 Kristof Goddaert (Bel)
134 Blel Kadri (Fra)
135 Romain Lemarchand (Fra)
136 Mattéo Montaguti (Ita)
137 Boris Shpilevskiy (Rus)

Astana Pro Team
141 Dmitri Muravyev (Kaz)
142 Borut Bozic (Slo)
143 Jacopo Guarnieri (Ita)
144 Francesco Masciarelli (Ita)
145 Assan Bazayev (Kaz)
146 Valentin Iglinskiy (Kaz)
147 Dmitriy Gruzdev (Kaz)

151 Romain Feillu (Fra)
152 Thomas De Gendt (Bel)
153 Sergey Lagutin (Uzb)
154 Marcello Pavarin (Ita)
155 Kenny Van Hummel (Ned)
156 Mirko Selvaggi (Ita)
157 Wouter Mol (Ned)

Omega Pharma - Quick Step Cycling Team
161 Gerald Ciolek (Ger)
162 Matthew Brammeier (Irl)
163 Serge Pauwels (Bel)
164 Andrew Fenn (GBr)
165 Gert Steegmans (Bel)
166 Matteo Trentin (Ita)
167 Julien Vermote (Bel)

171 Stefano Agostini (Ita)
172 Daniele Ratto (Ita)
173 Federico Canuti (Ita)
174 Kristijan Koren (Slo)
175 Alan Marangoni (Ita)
176 Mauro Da Dalto (Ita)
177 Fabio Sabatini (Ita)

UniSA Australia
181 Steele Von Hoff (Aus)
182 Jay McCarthy (Aus)
183 Rohan Dennis (Aus)
184 Lachlan Norris (Aus)
185 Tom Palmer (Aus)
186 Wesley Sulzberger (Aus)
187 William Clarke (Aus)

Tuesday, January 3, 2012


What is the difference between Women and Male Cycle Racers ? Men are guaranteed a minimum wage level and the Women can look after themselves as far as the UCI are concerned ! Photo of a worker !




Currently “ Cycling Australia ” are seeking an apology from Chloe Hosking for her remarks last weekend about Mc Quack otherwise known as a “ D**K ”, or that was Chloe’s description of this colourful nonentity !

Cycling Australia can shove it when they cannot support the women in their quest for fair treatment !

Expecting Aussies to fly the flag on the smell of an oily rag is just not on in this century and Mc Quack knows this as he has been reported to have been an event organiser before he was allowed to hijack the office of “ President of UCIless ”! Photo of a winner !

Just what do the Women pay annual dues to UCIless for , if not for fair treatment and FULL SUPPORT ? Are the Women’s Annual Dues less than a Male payment and thus they are treated in a lesser manner and given less support ?

Aussies have always called a spade a shovel and it is time the other Aussie Women spoke out in support of Chloe , and Mc Quack can go whistle ! Should those speculating in the CNF Mushroom Farm have their way then Chloe’s description would have been correct !

From my point of view UCIless needs to go to work and see that the Women are no longer exploited and thus treated with more respect . Cycling Australia needs to get behind the movement for a “ Liveable Minimum Wage for Women ” comparable to that of the men !

What have you lost this time ?

BEST WISHES TO THE WOMEN RACERS FOR 2012 ! You were the Road racers that brought Oz the Gold Medals in the past and you can do it again at London 2012 !