WE RIDE BIKES ! ALLOW US TO ENJOY THE RIDE IN SAFETY !

WE RIDE BIKES ! ALLOW US TO ENJOY THE RIDE IN SAFETY !
There are NO " RIGHTS "! THERE IS MUTUAL RESPECT !
Showing posts with label Le Tour. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Le Tour. Show all posts

Monday, October 28, 2013

MY NEIGHBOUR ! What chance with others ?




SMIDSY ( S orry M ate I d idn't s ee Y OU )  from a neighbour , hurrying to a Sunday afternoon drive ?

An attitude of "I AM BIGGER THAN YOU " , as the blue estate car pulled into a slightly wider street , from the one lane track that runs past his house . I have not had a look to see if this peasant , actually lives in that lane , which i am allowed to ride a bike along , but is signposted against " Rat running ". No point as he had driven off elsewhere .

Living in rural Tirol ( An area bidding for the UCI Road Race Champs in 2016? ) of Austria , in the village of a Radio Shack Racer , you would think that the locals are aware of Cyclists . Not so , the local Polizei only see me when the local turd complains about me stopping them in their driveway to explain that , " I ride to promote " BEHINDERTEN ( disabled/para ) SPORT " , not to join them !







My gate is on RHS of photo past house , note the road sign and width of lane used by neighbour ! The white car is about where the Blue Estate car stopped.




The road i live in , is 40kph and 10M east of my entrance there  is a choke point that is wide enough for a Bus/Truck to pass through whilst others travelling west wait . Regularly in the afternoon , as i sit in the sun , i see Coaches having to back up East , so as to allow another Bus/Coach/truck to pass through . No doubt this is because there is more backed up traffic going west ? This road is NOT the main road , but has become an escape route since local bus services use it to capture more passengers in the winter . Many of the houses , are winter accomodation for Skiers , thus walking in Ski Boots and carrying Skis , etc , poses an unacceptable burden for the visitor ? Local traffic at this time of year involves many tractors towing extra sized Farm machinery .








My gate is on LHS of photo





When the village has the " Speed Radar Display ", and when i am not aware of it , i usually see 35kph displayed , but when i know it is there , i am trying for in excess of 45kph , OOps , i meant 40kph ! This village is 40kph throughout , but  vehicles make sure they get in front of you , before they decide to observe the " Speed Limit ", when they remember ?

Yesterday , i was 50M from my gate bowling along at 30+kph , when " Herr A**ole , arrived at the end of his lane , looked at me ,  ABSOLUTELY SURE  he saw me , looked right for vehicles , then drove into my space ! The part of the road i was on , was NOT WIDE ENOUGH for 2 vehicles to pass , but hey a BIKE, THAT CAN STOP , can't it ? Well i went left and stopped in his path , he stopped blocking the road , looked at me , like " WHAT ARE YOU DOING THERE "? Then imperiously waved , get out of my way  ! Woman passenger was looking at me saying something , then at him , then he shrugged , like " What do we do now "? Well no point talking to him , hopefully the woman was filling his ear ?

Previous blogposts , have mentioned a variety of other incidents in this road , let alone elsewhere . Fact is , whereever you live as a Cyclist , you can NOT RELAX , each vehicle poses a hazard , regardless of whether it is following or coming towards you . Brad Wiggins wins the " Le Tour " and a neighbour rewards him with a visit to Hospital . Regular reports of Racers of every Cycling discipline feature in the Media and it is ALWAYS reported as the Media's  " impression ", that the CYCLIST was the cause of THEIR Misfortune !

CYCLISTS choose to ride the roads for a variety of reasons . In my case , yesterday was a means to get out and about , after watching the Solden Ski Races on Eurosport . In past years , i would arrive in the Resort on Tuesday with my bike , ride to the Glacier on several days , ski with the Racers on their training tracks and ASK them to speak about " Para Sport " with the Media . Since my " Fund Raiser " at Solden in 1998 , i have rarely missed Solden or the Kitzbuhel Weekend , but this year with no car the past 2 months , i have been disinclined to rent a car to make the journey . My original plan was to have headed to Oz after this event but as yet still awaiting replies to some matters that i started enquiries about in August ! Some "Jobsworth " is about to receive a kicking from their Head of Department , particularly when i post the blog on that story !

AS most reading will know , i support several " Cycle Safety Blog/Websites " but i am going to plagerise a new site i found today , since it reveals many of the issues i have previously mentioned !

http://www.amygillett.org.au/oct2013enews

http://www.tcs.cam.ac.uk/sport/0030608-the-on-going-fight-against-gender-division-in-sport.html

http://www.facebook.com/SafeCyclingAustralia?ref=stream&hc_location=stream



The New site :

https://aaron-ball.squarespace.com/cycling-in-brisbane

A selection of points :

  " what needs to be done is: 
1. Proper funding and world best practice design, even if it means taking space away from moving and parked cars.  This doesn't mean separated Copenhagen-style paths on every street.  It means useful, connected, planned bike routes where necessary, which are separated from cars.  
2. Lowering speed limits: 30kph on local streets and 50kph on connector roads.  Here in Brisbane, and in most Australian cities, the default speed limit is 50kph.  That means that even little laneways, cul-de-sacs, residential neighbourhoods, nursing homes etc. etc. drivers can drive at 50kph and usually drive at 60kph happily. Next up in the hierarchy of roads, collector roads which provide local access but also move traffic from local roads to main routes, speed limits are usually 60kph or 70kph,  which means drivers do anywhere between 65 to 80 kph.  Seriously, if you drive around Brisbane at or below the speed limit, you will get honked at, abused, or cut off by irate drivers who want to stay with the flow of traffic (generally 5 to 10 kph above the posted limit.
3. Changes to the road rules so that cyclists don't have to pretend to be cars, or are at least protected from cars.  Bicycles are not cars and should not be categorised as 'vehicles'. The average person cannot propel a bicycle so as to beat a car to a destination further than 5km away. The average person probably couldn't propel a bicycle across an intersection quicker than a car. Being forced to do so (by having to stop at stop signs or red lights, and being prohibited from crossing with pedestrians) means the average person won't even try.
4. Get rid of mandatory helmet laws.  There's lots of evidence that while helmets may prevent some types of head injury in the unlikely event of some types of crashes, the social damage mandatory helmet laws cause (disincentive to cycling, shaping cycling culture as a male-dominated sporting culture, risk compensation, signalling that cyclists are responsible for mitigating danger etc. etc.) far outweighs the advantages. Despite this, State Government still churns out the propaganda.
Some submissions call for an awareness campaign.  Even though none have worked before, not even Scotland's depressingly fucked up Niceway Code campaign (which even goes so far to say that cyclists are not even a subspecies, they're horses).
The problem with most government produced awareness campaigns is that they are usually undermined by government's inherent, car-centric bias.  Some pinhead in Scotland's traffic department probably thought cyclists wouldn't mind being ridiculed, if it got drivers onside. I wonder how many Scottish cyclists get carrots thrown at them instead of beer bottles. 
Australian governments have the same bias.  For example, Queensland's 'Share the Road' campaign went to great lengths to deliver twin messages with equal weighting: It takes two to tango, so cyclists follow the road rules and motorists give cyclists plenty of room.   Thereby entrenching the fallacy that cyclists disobey the road rules more than cars do. 
Here's the message for drivers, encouraging them to give cyclists plenty of room on the road:


Those reading the above points will have seen much of the same in Blogs from UK, US  European & other Oz sites !

Share/Bookmark

Sunday, July 14, 2013

Mont Ventoux on Bastille Day !

Anyone on Mont Ventoux today will be NUTS ! Reports of it blowing hard at the bottom , come as no surprise :

Not sure what it's like at the top of Ventoux, but it's blowing a gale here at the bottom! We'll soon see...

With having suffered pedestrian interference , as i rode this climb in previous tours , and the fact that getting off the mountain after finishing as near to the finish line as allowed by the " turd Brigade " allows , there is no longer any appeal for me . Those who are die hard fans , will have motored to the point where they are able to park and no doubt will have carried supplies to last out the many days that parking there will require .

Visitors to my blogs will see that one of my last visits , was as described in this comment to the " ROAR Blog ":

My comment :
" My twitter photo was taken , the day i rode the TRIPLE , in early Feb 2013 ! Yes it was possible , even with it being Winter elsewhere , Bedoin was showing 15C as i headed up for the 2nd climb . Coming off the top i met 3 Belgians who were heading up for their afternoon ride . I had rolled out of my tent at the Vaucluse YHA/Auberge Jeunesse at 6am with frost on the ground . Later in the week i would meet others at the Tour de Med , who had seen me in Maloucenes & Sault . Being in that area came about through my travel arrangements to the Tour Down Under going awry . faced with staying in London i headed to the South of France and visited a Criterium/ race lasting 4 days there , but being in such warm weather , the lure of revisiting Mont Ventoux proved too strong . Saturday i made the ride from Carpentras to Bedouin thence passing a few non english speakers arrived on the summit and descended to Sault , before going in search of the Auberge , which is tucked away in some really lovelly villages and cycling area . Well worth the visit alone. Sunday riding around the area visiting the various village markets , loosening up inspired the desire for the Triple . Monday was a tempo day , pushing mainly in 21 & 23 , although had 27 available , all the time in the world , but it was only after finishing that i discovered there was a register available to those that wanted to record the event .
Will not be at Mont Ventoux , today , i was there EARLY , the last time , the ride was continually interupted even in the early hours by walking people with the attitude that YOU should not be riding a bike , whilst they had to walk up carrying whatever supplies they needed for the wait for the rACERS to arrive ! WHAT AN ATTITUDE , going to suffer 6+ hours to watch the Racers pass , yet disrupting those that make the effort to emulate " THEIR SPORTING IDOLS "? Of course i would be happy to see the BEST MAN WIN , but with it being Bastille day and having suffered so much poor sportsmanship in the past visits , i will be dissappointed if a Frenchie emulates Richard Virenque's victory , whom i last rode with on that Monday Rest Day in Avignon , as members of the BikeStyle Tours & Sporting Tours fraternity , who spotted us and tried to chase down , will attest ".

No doubt many of those Tours Company personnel , will have set up Tents and will have sufficient Supplies available to ensure the health & Safety of their Clients . Make sure to LOCK Securely those bikes , since there will be plenty of villains looking for their Bastille Day Present ! For me the Eurosport TV feed will be a reward for the climb to 2000+m i will be making this morning , as i ride the Zillertal Hohenstrasse .

This item is from Ced Vasseur , i think it was the day that i saw the Paralympian French Champion ride , with one leg , this climb :

https://twitter.com/cedvasseur/status/356318222687014913/photo/1



Above photo taken when i did the Triple , more on that event to be found here :

http://www.skippi-cyclist.blogspot.com

To those that will be scrambling for the few moments that the Peloton passes them  , i hope it was all worth that effort :

Reports say one million people could be on Mont Ventoux. Not sure about that, it'd be mean 24 people per metre of road on both sides

Last time Bastille Day meant anything worthwhile to me , was , when living in Sydney , we had a " Fancy Dress Party " , at the house in Longueville . Dressed as " Louis X11V " and my partner as " Marie Antonette " , we still had " Guests arriving " after midnight , some with the excuse of coming from work at the Theatre , thus unable to participate in dressing for the occasion . Some day i will find a way to turn photos of the occasion , into internet usuable material .

Those reading the " ROAR Blog , will recognise the following item :

  "  When Doctor Pierre Dumas leant over Tom Simpson after the British bike rider had crashed to the ground for the last time during the Tour of 1967, his mind would have gone racing back 12 years to the Tour of 1955.
On that occasion Dr. Dumas had to prise open the jaws of fallen cyclist Jean Mallejac in order to administer oxygen and then inject a stimulant to restart the stricken rider’s heart. Unlike Simpson though, Mallejac survived.
Both incidents occurred on the barren, sun beaten slopes of Mont Ventoux and under extreme conditions.
Temperatures above 40 degrees Celsius, coupled with furious racing and the dubious use of ‘supplements’ contributed to the demise of both riders. "
Whilst considering what will take place today , i would like to remind people that attempt to ride this climb and L'Alpe d'Huez that being properly refreshed and riding a comfortable tempo , is the key to success . Yesterday i spoke with a guy who was experiencing knee problems . It appears that he had been doing 30-40 km rides , then decided to do a 150km ride , claims the muscles were OK , but the knee suffered , wonder why ? Riding any amount of flat distances , will not prepare you for continous high percent climbing . Better prepared Cyclists will have found climbs that they are able to do multiple repeated ascents to condition the muscles but more importantly the mindset . When i decide to do a climb , i remind myself that i have done this climb before , although i do not attempt to recall the time i took on that occasion . Being 67yo riding past youngsters is sufficient motivation , but i do not spot someone ahead and increase my tempo with the thought to pass them . That tends to be self defeating further into a long climb .





Comment on another Blog article worth a read :

  "  I have met a group of rides who where doing an escorted tour. ie ride between hotels, with a van that takes baggage forward to next hotel and does sag wagon.
They only had one day to have shot and do the climb which I guess temped one of their members to ride around a road closure sign. He ended up with hypothermia and was getting blown off his bike, apparently he could not even keep his glasses on his face without holding them on..he was very lucky the cafe just near the forest was able to help me (and treat him).
The name Ventuox basically means the summit is in the mistral winds… which means the weather at the top can be extraordinarily cold and windy and down right dangerous if the weather is bad. After talking to the locals, its not uncommon for people to get caught out…
Moral of the story its a wonderful place to ride with many fantastic rides in the region around it, but, allow some time and don’t tempt fate with the weather at the top.
We were able to pick and choose days to ride there absolutely memorable experiences… want to go back again and again   "!

Is this what the fuss is all about :
From noon here , i will be following the progress of Ashton Agar , as he seeks to dig Oz out of the hole that the rest of the team has dug for themselves . With the " Wonders of Modern Technology " available to them , both the Captains and the Umpires need a " Good Kicking "! Allowed 2 referals apiece , when the facilities are there for full time use , strikes me as STUPIDITY !  Certainly , unwarranted referals should be penalised , perhaps adding an extra " Ball " to the over , or deduction of " Runs " from their Total , perhaps even Monetary Penalty , can be applied ?

1/ Can you believe that Peter Sagan would run with the Escape then do a " Robbie Mc Ewan " as the Peloton catches him ?



The showman does a wheelie before being caught

 2/ CAN YOU BELIEVE that TEST Cricket , has you sitting on the edge of your chair ? Lunch break after half hour delay , not improved by Broad tying his shoe laces :

stuff that up your arse broad. your time wasting tactics didn't work


How refreshing is it to watch a gripping sporting encounter without having odds rammed down your throat?

ONLY 20 runs needed for Oz , or heaven now forbid , that the Poms , get that last wicket !




DO NOT MISS THIS CHANCE to help Cyclists survive on the Roads Worldwide ! Usually Oz leads the way with Vehicle Safety Initiatives , so Why are they following Europe for CYCLISTS ?

Remember everyone, the petition is still running. Keep signing and help us make our point!


Share/Bookmark

Monday, December 17, 2012

IF I WERE PRESIDENT !

Presidents are required to demonstrate LEADERSHIP ! Behind the holders of these Positions , are a variety of people , who do the actual work , needed to create the Success Story , that the populace, they preside over during their stewardship , expected when they  voted them into Office  .

Currently i am watching Two Major Incidents , that have a substantial impact on my life .

Cycling and the UCI .

Gun Control Issues in the USA .

Cycling is going through a Crisis , which should have been dealt with in 1999 , as most people had thought , resulting from action caused by the " Festina Affair "! Seems there was little done then , so for a decade and half , Racers have been able to utilise EPO and Blood Doping to their benefit . Since 1998 , crisis after crisis , have plagued Cycle Racing , so much so , that ALL results from 1990 have been suspect . Even Greg LeMond's 1990 Tour de France Triumph is questioned by a " vocal minority " in the Cycling News Clinic . My impression is that they are deranged , trouble makers . Miguel indurain has had mud thrown at his efforts also , by these same people as well as in other Cycling Forums . Bjarne Riis , has admitted his behaviour and Jan Ulrich has paid out a Substantial amount to the German Government to make a Prosecution cancelled .

We all know of Marco Pantani's unfortuate death from Drugs and his being sent home from the 1999 Giro d'Italia , whether he was using at the 1998 " Le Tour " is suspect . Everyone is aware that Lance Armstrong has been stripped of his 7 TDF Titles as was Flandis in 2006 .  In place of Flandis , the Spaniard Oscar Periero was awarded the TDF Victory , a questionable background there , however . Contador was the 2007 " Le Tour " winner but he has been stripped of some of his Victories in recent years due to a " Tainted Meat ingestion "! Carlos Sastre , a Spaniard with a good reputation , won the 2008 " Le Tour ", his Team Managers , however , have questionable reputations . In later years we have Contador , Schleck, Evans and Wiggins all winners of the Tour de France , being splattered with " Mud " by Social Media .

Cycling is a Sport , dominated by the Annual Tour de France , but even the other Annual Grand Tours , Giro d'Italia and Vuelta Espana , have had cases of " Musical Chairs "! With the 3 Major Events , there are supporting Acts , in the form of the " Tour de Suisse , Dauphine Libere and lately the Tour Down Under & Tour of California  " being tainted by those seeking " Unsporting advantage by PED usage . Most of these events are UCI Pro World Calender , Sanctioned  Events with UCI controlling the " Anti Doping Controls "!

Were i President , i would immediately request the WADA Management to take control of the " Anti Doping  Testing " ! Racers would be subjected to a " Truth and Reconciliation Commission " , before they are granted the necessary licence for the New Season . Back Room Staff would ALSO be required to submit to this process , since so many of them were Racers , that have retired from Active Competition .

Teams would be required to continue to meet the current standards that ensure their Licence , but they would be held to a higher standard in respect of communicating " Contractual Agreements with Staff "!

###

 So many Racers this year are finding out by default , that they have no contract for 2013 . There should be a Website , available to ALL , showing the state of play at 30th September each year .

Winnings by Racers would be placed in a " Suspence Fund " , which would allow them to withdraw Monies after their " Honourable Retirement "! Those that choose to use PEDs to enhance their career , will forfeit ALL Winnings to that point ! Since most Pro World Racers have a Salary in excess of the UCI " Minimum Salary Level , there would be no reason for them to be inconvenienced by this Change of Procedure .

Currently i am aware of the efforts of www.changecyclingnow.org and their Petition , to inspire change in the UCI . Today i became aware of @Gaudryt becoming the President of the Oceania Division of UCI and meeting recently with CCN.org . I would hope this leads to her being persuaded to challenge for the Presidency of the UCI at an early date .

GUN CONTROL ISSUES :

If i were in President Obama 's shoes , i would be , TODAY , calling to the White House the Leaders of both Houses of Congress . I would be asking them to call a Joint Sitting of Congress , TOMORROW , bringing back the Bills repealed in 2004 , and any other GUN CONTROL Bills , that have been set aside in recent years . The Leaders of the Joint Sitting , have the ability to see these Bills are voted back into LAW , at the EARLIEST time possible . As i am not a Citizen of the USA , i am unfamiliar with the procedures that need to be observed , however , there is a " Political Will " available at this time .

The US Public will back this action , since they will agree with Mayor Bloomberg's assessment , that 48000+ people could lose their lives in the immediate future through " Firearms Misuse "!  There is nothing to be gained by delaying Legislation of Bills that have been repealed . New Bills will be required to cover a multitude of Issues that need to be addressed by Congress and these should be drafted as a matter of Urgency .  Examination of the Laws passed in the Australian and British Parliaments after their " Gun Outrages " will provide a wealth of information to be used as a base for a " US Gun Control Bill "!

Copy Cat Killing Sprees come about because some of their Perpetrators are seeking " Postumous Notoriety "! Why should these misguided people be recognised in history ? Each " Atrosity " from this time forward should be governed by a decision by the Media to call the perpetrator " Person X " , thus depriving the public of a way to identify with their exploits . When the perpetrators  commit " suicide " , what benefit do they gain by the enquiries generated by the Media ? With the " Newtown Incident " , the perpetrator appears to have been carrying the brother's " ID " , does the family have to suffer , the public retribution for an incident , of which they had no part ?  Media delved into areas that had no benefit to the Law Officers , who were trying to control the Information flow , so that they could finalise their investigations in a satisfactory manner . What benefit to you or I , was the Interview of a young neighbour about the personality of the perpetrator ?

 Personally i could care less about the perpetrator , knowing his motives are of no value , it does nothing to help bring back those that died . More time seemed to be spent by CNN on the perpetrator than on the Victims . Only after president obama paid tribute to the young victims , did we see more about them . I guess part of this may have been due to the Law Enforcement Officers , trying to shield the Families from Intrusive efforts from the Media ?

Over too many years , the " National Rifle Association " has bought the allegiance of " Politicians " , they are Human Beings , that are lucky not to have had Tragedies in their Families !  How many of the " Board Members of NRA " would forgive the " shooter " for killing their Family "? The 2nd Amendment was incorporated in the Constitution , in the belief that it was the right thing to do , when the US Constitution was Created .  That was the 18th Century , when Americans were trying to throw off the yoke imposed on them by King George and his Troops . This is the 21st Century and circumstances have changed . The USA is the Policeman of the World , it has a Professional Armed Service , not a rag tag bunch of people who would be called to arms when danger threatens !

Would that i could , i would require ANY Owner of a Gun , that can discharge more than one round without  being reloaded , to be on a National Register , the weapon to be kept in a Locked Cabinet , preferably requiring two key holders . Those that have Weapons in their homes should be required to turn over to the National Guard , the Magazines of those weapon , for safekeeping , until their " New Permit " has been issued .

The National Data base , would be loaded from existing State Registers , there would be additional information required of each Gun Holder . To obtain the " New Permit " , my belief is that TWO separate Agencies should be involved in investigating the background of those seeking to obtain the necessary " New Permit " . By this procedure , most of the " Old Boy Networking " could be voided .  Health Checks should Also be subjected to an Independent Panel , avoiding placing Family doctors in an Invidious situation !

Law Enforcement Personnel and those involved in the Security of Higher Level Political Entities would be exempt , initially from these requirements , but in the fullness of time be required to meet the Annual Review .

Currently the " Gun Control " situation appears to be laughable , since , a " NRA spokesman " advised last night , on the " Piers Morgan Show of CNN , that there is a register of those " Banned " from owning a weapon "! Was he joking ? I can understand that " Criminals and those subjected to medical Sanctions ",  SHOULD NOT be allowed to possess weapons , but who else are added to this register ? Regardless of any actions taken , there will always be the problems of the " Criminal Elements " gaining possession of Weapons !

Australia initiated a " Buyback scheme for weapons " , that had a very successful result . To encourage people to turn over their weapons to the National Guard , i would offer each household the option of a " TAX rebate " of Twice the Monetary Value of the weapon  in the first month of the scheme  , 150% in the second month and 100% in the third month ! Those choosing to try to obtain their " New Permit " , should have to pay a substantial Upfront Fee for the " New Permit " , increasing in expense in relation to the calibre and size of the magazine ! " New Permits " should be available from a decision made within six months of application  .

Gun Shop Owners will of course be screaming " Blue Murder " as will the " NRA " , but if they had to walk the halls of the " Newtown Elementary School " and seen the carnage , i am sure they would prefer to suffer a financial loss rather than be the " Victim of a shooting incident "!

Whatever i have missed , in my inexperience in such matters , i am sure there are many , that can add to my knowledge and sensible additions to this post would be welcomed .



Once again my Sympathies to the Families of People that have lost Family/ies and Friends in Past Outrages !

Updating my thoughts on " Copy Cat situations "!  last night i watched the Newtown Catholic Church evacuated because of a " Bomb threat " and just now , CNN report the " Lock Down of A neighbouring Town's Schools , as a result of Suspicious behaviours !

In the next months it is my belief that there will be too many more of these situations !

Would like to wish ALL the Compliments off the Season and a PEACEFUL NEW YEAR !


Those wishing to make a point , can sign my Petition :



http://www.change.org/en-GB/petitions/president-of-united-states-of-america-repeal-the-2nd-amendment
Share/Bookmark

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

World Bicycle Relief

Fatcyclist.com is starting this week , a new fundraiser for this unique and worthwhile Charity ! This got me thinking about ways of " publicing " their fundraising efforts . As many will have read in other blog posts , most of the equipment i utilise , as i ride the various Pro World Tours , are provided for me by generous Equipment Suppliers  .

The idea of riding a Complete Grand Tour came to mind ? Could the people behind " WBR " be able to provide a " Pink " unit for training purposes , then service it during the actual Giro d`Italia ? Sram service people are always at the Grand Tours visiting the Teams using their products in past years . In fact i recall meeting people that won competitions that they sponsored , at Team Hotels as they serviced Bikes .

Carrying this idea further , could a number of " Pink WBR bikes "  be built , some sold to those in different parts of the world as " Fundraisers " and then if the owners chose to visit the Grand Tours , be loaned similar units to ride on the " Routes of the Grand Tours "?

Over several years i have reported riding with Francesco Moser , Gianni Motta ; Maurizio Fondriest & Paulo Bettini as they escort " Guests on a ride from the " Villagio Partenza " and also to " Villagio Arrivo " ! It occurs to me that " Sram " could partner with " Banco Medillianum " and thus those " Guests " choosing to invest in a " Maglia " from Banco M. , could choose to donate a " WBR Bike " ? Yes , they may even choose to ride a " Pink WBR bike " with Francesco and Co ?

Normally Francesco rides a " Moser model " , Maurizio a Fondriest ,  as Gianni has ridden a " Motta model " , in the past , could they not ride a " Pink WBR model " either painted/decalled  " Donated by Banco M."?

So there are transport logistic issues involved ? Fattys' army , are renowned for solving " molehills "! Each year ,  " 100 MON " takes place at a variety of locations , i on my part , have ridden it several times  , last year " LÀlpe D`Huez  was the location i utilised , during the Dutch Cancer Fund Raiser .

With so many Media Journos at the Giro d'Italia , it seems such an obvious " publicity opportunity " for promoting the fantastic work that " World Bicycle Relief " continues to do .

Should those working with " WBR " make a success of this at the Giro d'Italia then there will be an opportunity for even more Publicity to be generated at  " Le Tour " !  With so many " Tour Operators " bringing " Punters and their Bikes to " Le Tour " , many riding a bike , at " Le Tour " could save the expense of bringing their own bikes , and utilise a " Yellow WBR Bike "!   Journos could not fail to find a story here ?

Another thought came to mind , in the U.K. , there are Op.s for workers , to buy bikes through their " Employers " , thus getting tax relief ? Could " donating " to a " WBR bike " be included into this scheme be considered ? Noted that there is other " Tax relief Op.s " available and suggest contact with the following email address could elicit that info :  kbolling@worldbicyclerelief.org





Share/Bookmark

Monday, October 15, 2012

Oz Cycling's FUTURE ?

Matt White is not the only Aussie Cycle Racing Star that went to Europe and was presented with a dilemma but because he was mentioned by Levi Leipheimer at the USADA inquiry he has stepped aside to allow Cycling Australia to decide his future !

Remember " Festina " and those sent home from the 1998 Tour de France ? I was there , riding the Route of the " Le Tour " for the first time . Kind of interesting to find the Gendarmerie providing escort long into the time that the racers should have caught up . Unbeknown to me they were having a sit down strike in Annecy because of the way they were treated when their hotels were raided .

Festina Affair was supposed to have brought change , then the Grand Start of the 2006 Tour de France was supposed to have cleared out All the suspect racers , leaving out the likes of Jan Ulrich & Oscar Sevilla . Now we are in the throes of another controversy and when you read the next item you will wonder what is likely to happen when the European season gets going in 2013 .

George the Cyclist like myself rides the route of " Le Tour " each year and eagerly attends the Annual Chicago Garmin Store Event which Chris Vandevelde uses as a way to thank his hometown fans . This year he was front page news in the morning National Papers due to his Confession , nicely timed to coincide with the release of USADA's reasoned report on Lance Armstrong's Career . You would think that the evening event would be dominated by questions from angry and bewildered fans ? Not So as George relates here :

www.georgethecyclist.blogspot.com

Business will be resumed as normal on the 1st April 2013 thanks to USADA making promises to those US Racers that chose to give details at the hearings . A member of the US Justice Dept. sat in the room reading a transcript of the Grand Jury testimony they had previously given , no doubt ensuring accuracy ?

This weekend i came across a report that Senator Lundy , Australia's Minister of Sport was seeking Information from the Public about Cycling matters . This info was relayed by a comment in the CNF Clinic on Phil Anderson , who it appears has relayed his thoughts on a Cycling matter that he was party to in 1993 that was reported on the Australian ABC network .

Senator Lundy is seeking submissions via Post , Telephone , fax & Email . I have used email :

                      senaror.lundy@aph.gov.au

"  There is a report that you are seeking information on the USADA Inquiry into Cycling Activities surrounding Lance Armstrong and how it relates to Australians !

Blogging for several years I have made my views known , relating to Cycling , to a Worldwide Audience . Some of these people are Australians , as I am , and some are people that I have ridden with at the Tour de France and other events .

Most of the media reporting from  “ Le Tour “ are aware of my riding the route of the Grand Tours the past 15 seasons , to “ Publicise Disabled Sport  “! Each year many Aussies from the Media seek me out , as do those from other countries . Described as an “ Icon “ by some and laughed at by others , I have enjoyed meeting and greeting those of the “ Worldwide Disabled Communities “ that know of my work , espousing their cause . There are quite a few that have publicly thanked me in the media .

Last week many of those Cycling Athletes that I have ridden with on the Grand Tour Rest Days , admitted to “ Doping “ ! Many of those people were in the past two years called before the US Grand Jury and questioned under oath as to their activities relk ating to Lance Armstrong and the teams he worked with . The US Government were applying a higher standard to the Evidence obtained in the Grand Jury and in the fullness of time choose to do more with that evidence !

USADA ran a separate enquiry and their Standard of Evidence is at a lower level BUT whilst those named in the report published last week , were giving their evidence , it is reported that a person with a copy of the Grand Jury Transcript , was sitting in attendance , reviewing the transcript . What effect this had on those summoned by USADA is a matter of conjecture ? Certainly there were Australian Cyclists mentioned in the USADA report , since many Australian Cycle Racers have achieved international stature and are to be found riding in Europe at the Grand Tours and Pro World Events !

It comes as no surprise to see Matt White named ,as I first met him , when he was riding with Casagrande , whom the Tour de France Director advised in 1999 , not to arrive as a rider , at that edition of the Tour de France . I was with Matt when he won the Tour de Suisse Stage into Leichenstein that year , and I know he was heartbroken to be missing the “ Le Tour “!

Since the USADA Report was orientated towards Armstrong’s activities , only Australians that worked on that team nay be considered “ tainted “ by association .

Cycling Sport was rocked by the “ Festina Affair “ in 1998 , because that team was sent home from that edition of the “ Le Tour “!  Amongst the team was an Australian ,Neil Stephens , who works together with Matt in many roles associated with Australian Cycle Sport . What will be done about his past associations , remains to be seen , but I am sure speculation is rife ?

With the internet , I am able to communicate with you , and also follow the overall media picture . I use as a primary source the following website and suggest your staff take the time to provide you with a précis of matters that may require your attention and consideration :

http://www.steephill.tv/2012/usada-lance-armstrong-doping-case/

From this site you will get a comprehensive overview of what is relevant in the Cycling World .

Whilst riding the route of the “ Le Tour “ I have come to know  “George the Cyclist “ . He rides with Panniers whilst I race along the route so we only meet at the finish screen most times . Last week in his home city , Chicago  , he attended a Garmin Cycle Team Sponsored Event . Principal Speakers were Chris Vandevelde , whose confession to “ Doping “ was announced in the National Papers that morning , and another Team Member , Tyler Farrer , whose Father was a noted Track Cycle Racer that became a Renowned Surgeon until struck and paralysed in a road accident some years ago . The report of the evening’s event is contained in this link :

www.georgethecyclist.blogspot.com

It will be clear to you , after reading this report , that those confessing , believe that the “ storm of controversy “ will blow over , and that it will be back to normal before the start of their next racing Season !

Reports in the media indicate that All Those confessing were “ promised “ a 6 month suspension starting 30th september2012 , this means that most will have not lost any of their Team Racing opportunities ! Sweet deal for them if that is the truth ?

My purpose in writing to you is to request that you and the Australian Government require the Australian Olympic Committee and the Australian Anti Doping Organisation DEMAND of the IOC and WADA to institute an immediate “ AMNESTY IN ALL SPORTS “!

Sport is no longer “ Amateur “ in the OLYMPICS and World Championship Levels ! It has become a colossal Money Spinner for the Athletes , Organisations and Sponsors that are associated with Sport ! It would be almost certain that Criminal Elements have infiltrated Sport to the extent that very few Sports could claim to be “DRUG FREE “ and results are not corrupted by “ Match Mixing “ activities .

Until those who have stepped across the line and participated in Doping in their Career , ALL Athletes both Past and Present are open to pressure from Criminal Elements who are continually seeking an advantage for their activities . Just look at the number of retired athletes advising their doping Activities once they past the Statute of Limitations , in recent years !

On the 29th October , Chris Prudhomme of the ASO , owners of “ Le Tour “, will announce the route of the 100th Edition in 2013 of “ le Tour “! He will , it is believed , act to “ nullify the results of 1999 to 2005 “ . Personally I think this should be from 1990 through 2012 , since the EPO drugs were available in that period and the “ UCI “ did little if anything to control the effects they had on Cycling Professionals . Reports on the UCI , indicate that in 1997 as well as 1999 they chose not to impose “ Bans “ on suspect Racers !


Do you wish to see a continual dribble of sensation tainting Australian Sports OR do you wish to see the DOPING PROBLEM eradicated ? YOUR CHOICE !

AS an expat Aussie I can only hope that you will apply your status as Minister for Sport in leading Other Nations in supporting an “ AMNESTY “ that will close down the Criminal Elements controlling SPORT !


THOSE OF YOU READING THIS SHOULD THINK ABOUT WRITING TO YOUR NATION'S SPORT MINISTERS asking them to ACT !!

UNTIL YOU DO , there will be no change in Cycling ! More of Chris Vdv 's attitude will prevail and perhaps more young cyclists will risk their lives following their dream of success but finding DEATH and failure instead !

Share/Bookmark